Skip to content

Resident & Faculty Resources

Kaiser Permanente East Bay Academy of Medical Educators

The Academy’s founding principle is to recognize and support the development of physicians committed toKPAME_EB_Logo clinical teaching and research. It is our intention to honor and reward excellent teachers. Our mission is to support and advance teaching at every level of medical education within Kaiser Permanente East Bay. Our goals are to enhance the status of teachers, promote and reward teaching excellence, enhance clinical research, foster curricular innovation and encourage scholarship in medical education.


  1. Has attained participant status in The Permanente Medical Group
  2. Has fulfilled the following requirements:
    • Annual minimum of 30 hours teaching medical students, residents and/or fellows
    • Given at least two lectures per year which included a PowerPoint presentation or other special format
    • Attended at least one educational program for teaching enhancement skills in the past year
    • Received outstanding evaluations from students or residents
  3. In addition, has fulfilled one of the following requirements:
    • Published at least two peer-reviewed abstracts, papers or posters in the past three years; or have ongoing research grants; or developed Kaiser Regional Clinical Guidelines/Workflows
    • Received a teaching award from students or residents
    • Been a leader in a resident or student educational program or in a large-scale curriculum development project for a residency or clerkship

Founding Members

Faculty Name Specialty Faculty Name Specialty
Ravi Bains, MD Spine Surgery Thomas Baudendistel, MD Hospital Medicine
Roger Baxter, MD Infectious Diseases Raul Cruz, MD Head & Neck Surgery
Abhay Dandekar, MD Pediatrics Juan Guerra, MD Obstetrics & Gynecology
Deepak Gurushanthaiah, MD Head & Neck Surgery Jorge Gutierrez, Jr., MD Pediatric Critical Care
Amit Malhotra, MD Pediatric Neurology Rebecca Margulies, MD Urogynecology
Dustin Mark, MD Emergency Medicine Lindsay Mazotti, MD Hospital Medicine
Laura Minikel, MD Obstetrics & Gynecology Myngoc Nguyen, MD Allergy
Barry Rasgon, MD Head & Neck Surgery Nicholas Riegels, MD Anesthesia
Austin Spitzer, MD Surgery Jonathan Svahn, MD Surgery
Eve Zaritsky, MD Obstetrics & Gynecology Sijie Zheng, MD Nephrology

2015 Members

Faculty Name Specialty Faculty Name Specialty
Albert Chong, MD Pediatric Surgery Lawrence Ford, DPM Podiatric Surgery
Joan Lo, MD Medicine Kamran Majid, MD Orthopedic Surgery
Nardine Riegels, MD Medicine

2016 Members

Faculty Name Specialty Faculty Name Specialty
David Aaronson, MD Urology Thomas Barber, MD Orthopedics
Leslea Brickner, MD Internal Medicine Rebecca Chasnovitz, MD Pediatrics
James Duffy, MD Psychiatry Megan Durr, MD Head and Neck Surgery
Aditya Gangopadhyay, MD Hospital Medicine Nami Jhaveri, MD, MPH Neonatology
Rita Kwan, MD, MPH General Surgery Mary Patton, MD Internal Medicine
Olga Ramm, MD, MS Urogynecology J. Jewel Shim, MD Psychiatry
Matthew Solomon, MD, PhD Cardiology Kevin Wang, MD Head and Neck Surgery
Tali Ziv, MD Internal Medicine
Back To Top