Resident and Fellow Policies and Procedures Manual
New Hire Check List 2023
Domestic Partner Affidavit
Child Abuse Reporting Requirements
Elder and Dependent Adult Abuse Reporting Requirements
Drug Free Workplace Acknowledgement
National Drug Free Workplace Policy
Guidelines Bloodborne Pathogens
National Healthy Workforce Lactation Support Policy
Employee Lactation Support
Licensing Requirements for MD and DO Residents
CALIFORNIA MEDICAL BOARD LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
Changes effective January 1, 2022
Obtaining the appropriate California medical license is the responsibility of every physician. Failure to obtain the license will result in removal from clinical duties and participation in KP’s residency programs.
Postgraduate Training License (PTL)
- Required for US Medical School Graduates participating in an ACGME program for the first 12 months of ACGME training; International medical graduates (IMGs) will complete 24 months of training with the PTL
- After the first 12 months of ACGME training, US Graduate trainees must obtain a California Physician and Surgeon license; IMGs will apply for a full license after 24 months
- The PTL will be valid until 90 days after the 12 / 24 month requirement to allow an applicant time to obtain a California Physician and Surgeon License (The expiration date listed on the PTL will be inclusive of this 90 day window)
California Physician and Surgeon License
- All US graduates with more than 12 months of ACGME Training are required to hold a California Physician and Surgeon License; IMGs with more than 24 months are required to get the full license
Grace Periods for New Hires
- Incoming Trainees applying for a PTL have 180 days to secure the training license if entering an ACGME program
- Incoming Trainees applying for a California Physician and Surgeon License have 90 days to secure the license if entering an ACGME program
- Incoming Trainees entering a Non-ACGME Program have no grace period. A California Physician and Surgeon License must be secured before the start of training
California Physician and Surgeon License must be renewed every 24 months.
Upon first renewal, a trainee will need to provide evidence they have completed 24 months of training in a single ACGME training program.
ACGME-International Training is not applicable for a California Medical License.
Deadlines for obtaining licenses are defined in the California statute and are not flexible. Failure to obtain a license by the indicated deadline will result in removal from clinical duties.
Visiting Trainees (Rotators) may work without a license in California for no more than 90 days.